MARCH 19, 2020
Governor Bill Lee Signed Executive Order 15 in response to the ongoing COVID-19 situation. This Executive Order extends expiration dates of registrations that are set to expire between March 12, 2020 and May 18, 2020. These registration will instead expire on June 15, 2020.
NEW VEHICLE REGISTRATION REQUIREMENTS
Purchaser needs to have in their possession (MSO) Manufacturer Statement Origin, completed by dealer and purchaser. Also, need bill of sale stating tax collected and lien holder (if any). If vehicle is purchased out of state and sales tax is lower than TN, then the difference will be collected at time of registration.
USED VEHICLE REGISTRATION REQUIREMENTS
Purchaser should have title in their possession with the buyer and seller’s signature. The Odometer reading is required for vehicles ten years old or newer. Tax will be collected at time of registration unless dealer collected tax. The selling price of a vehicle has to be 75% of book value if vehicle is newer than 15 years old. Low selling price will delay process of issuing title. The Affidavit of Non-Dealer Transfer of Motor Vehicle or Boats form can be used for low selling price or a gift. Do not purchase vehicle if the seller’s signature does not match the name on the front of the title. If a lien appears on the front of the title, make sure it has been released before you purchase. If a lien needs to be noted on either a new or used vehicle, make sure the full name and address of the lien holder is properly noted on the title.
NEW RESIDENTS MOVING TO TENNESSE REGISTRATION REQUIRMENTS
Owner needs title from previous state, or if still paying on vehicle, owner needs current registration and full name and address of lien holder. The cost of transferring an out of state title, obtaining a plate, and getting a registration is $77.00, if there is a lien registration cost will be $88.00.
In order to comply with Tennessee Law, customers wanting to register a vehicle that has been reported as a wrecked vehicle must complete the salvage title process. The first step is to obtain a Salvage Title or Certificate by completing the Application for Tennessee Salvage/Non Repairable Certificate form. The second step, after applying for and receiving a Salvage Certificate is to complete the Application for Motor Vehicle Identification Certification. All the remaining instructions are on this form.
VEHICLES WITHOUT A TITLE
If you have purchased a vehicle that does not have a title, you must complete the Certification of Ownership Application if the vehicle is at least 30 years old or has a value of $ 3,000.00 or less. If the vehicle meets one of these requirements, you can complete that form and follow all instructions listed on the form.
REPLACEMENT OF LOST TENNESSEE TITLE
A Tennessee title is the only title that may be replaced. We cannot duplicate out of state titles. To obtain a replacement title, the Duplicate Title form has to be completed and signed by registered owner. The Owner must present I.D. and pay $16.00. Duplicate titles are available on the same day application is made.
NOTING OF LIEN
Noting of Lien can only be done on a Tennessee title. In order to note a lien a Noting of Lien form must be completed and signed by the registered owner. They must have a TN title and a security agreement between the lender and borrower. The Noting of lien fee is $27.00.
UNDERSTANDING THE CONJUCTIONS USED WITH MULTIPLE VEHICLE OWNERS
Only one signature is required on title if registered to two people and the names are joined by “OR”. If joined by “AND”, both signatures are required to do a transfer of ownership with that title.
SELLING A VEHICLE
Registered owner of vehicle signs his/her name as signature of seller. Individual obtaining ownership of vehicle signs their name as buyer with complete address. Seller should never sign title without completing buyer portion; this is known as an open title. This could result in penalties to the seller.
DISABLED PLATES AND PLACARDS
Disabled individuals must have the Disabled Plate/Placard Application form completed by physician to obtain plates or placards for the first time. If purchasing plate, individual must have a vehicle registered in their name or be registering one in their name. Handicap license plates are $59.00. If permanently confined to a wheel chair, the license plate is free. If a disabled individual obtains a plate and a placard, the placard is free. If no plate is purchased the placard will cost $26.50 and is renewable every two years for $3.00 and a replacement placard will be $ 2.00
RENEWAL OF VEHICLE REGISTRATION
The price to renew license plates each year is as follows:
Regular Passenger Tags: $ 59.00
Personalized Plates and Specialty Plates: $ 95.00
Personalized Specialty Plates: $ 130.00