Requirements for Marriage in the State of Tennessee are as follows:
-The licenses are good for 30 days in any county or state.
-There are no blood tests and no waiting period.
-A valid driver license, picture ID, or a certified birth certificate is required.
-Proof of social security number is required. If applicant does not have a social security number, no proof is required.
-Both parties must be present at the time of application for the license, unless one is incarcerated.
-Applicants must be 18 years or older.
-Marriage requirements for juveniles 16 or 17 years of age:****
Both natural parents must be present at time of application.****
The natural parents must present a picture ID and the child's birth certificate.****
****NOTE: Meeting all the requirements to get a license does not mean that you are eligible and will receive one. All under age applications are handled case by case. We do reserve the right to refuse any license application under Tennessee State Law.****
Juveniles under 16 years of age must have a court order.
-The price is $45.00 with premarital counseling.
-The price is $105.00 without premarital counseling.
-Copies of Marriage Certificates may be obtained online by clicking the link below, at the County Clerk's office, or by mail for $5.00 each. The mailing address is listed below.
Union County Clerk
825 Main Street
Maynardville, TN 37807